Skip to content

Commodity trade under regulatory pressure
The three biggest industry risks and how to minimize them

Download PDF

1

CORRUPTION

of politically exposed persons and organizations

2

FINANCIAL CRIME

along the entire value chain, from intermediaries to customers

3

MONEY LAUNDERING

by partners or third parties who should not be involved in transactions


CHALLENGE

What risks and challenges do companies face?

Regulatory requirements for the commodity trade are becoming more and more stringent. Just recently, on January 1, 2021, an EU regulation imposed due diligence requirements on commodity importers. And this regulation isn’t the first of its kind. Back in 2014, for example, the Dodd-Frank Act came into force in the USA, imposing a reporting obligation on listed companies. They must now disclose, for instance, whether minerals originate from the Congo or its neighboring countries. All these requirements are an expression of the growing public interest in commodity trading and the demand for greater transparency in this economic sector.

The aim of these requirements is to expose irregularities in the commodity supply chains and heighten awareness of issues such as corruption and money laundering – along the entire value chain. Australian-British commodity giant BHP GROUP, for example, has been the subject of considerable criticism in this context. The company, which is listed on the stock exchanges in New York, London, Sydney and Johannesburg, hit the headlines when allegations surfaced in connection with the 2008 Summer Olympics. It was accused of having violated US corruption laws during construction projects and in its dealings with officials. In 2010, the Group eventually admitted to bribing Cambodian government representatives. 

Exploitation and trade of conflict minerals originating in the Democratic Republic of the Congo is helping to finance conflict characterized by extreme levels of violence.“

Dodd-Frank Act Sec. 1502

Indeed, bribery is in the commodity trade. Another case that came to light is that of the French oil company Total. Over a period of nine years, it had paid a total of 60 million US dollars in bribes for contracts in Iran, for which it received a fine of 388 million US dollars. This is a situation no company wants to find itself in.

The battle against corruption and financial crime is the area of compliance that is most difficult to prove to the public. Environmentally responsible business practices are easier to document – for example, by giving neutral inspectors access to mining sites so that they can report on their findings. Compliance with human rights and minimum labor standards can also be verified in this way. That said, such inspections are only possible for those parts of the value chain over which a company can exercise control. Most players in the commodity trade, however, import raw materials and sell them on to business customers. Nevertheless, they too should have an interest in maximum transparency, because this allows them to make a positive impression on buyers. Their customers, after all, are also becoming more discerning. Reputation is therefore gaining in importance, especially in the commodity trade. This is because it is impossible to tell from the raw material itself – or from the end product manufactured with it – whether or not environmental standards, human rights and anti-corruption laws have been complied with. So the question is: How do you generate transparency and a good reputation?


SOLUTION

Greater transparency and trust in the industry and your company

Compliance plays an important role and is especially challenging for companies operating in different legislative frameworks. Commodity traders tend to use intermediaries who then establish contact with authorities, governments and state-owned enterprises. It is necessary to examine relationships with intermediaries, classify them into different risk categories and verify and monitor them. The reason is that many scandals have involved such intermediaries making bribe payments, among other things. 

Pythagoras Business Partner Screening provides the answer. It enables traders to systematically screen and monitor business relationships with politically exposed persons or organizations. In combination with Native Character Screening, it also supports non-Latin scripts, enabling global deployment while meeting local requirements.

By using Pythagoras Transaction Screening to scrutinize transactions in real time before they are executed, it is furthermore possible to identify and process all the partners involved. It is a learning system, which means it is able to detect recurring partners and continuously monitor them for changes in their reference data. Our money laundering compliance solution requires each alert to be processed only once. It also allows special rules to be applied to payment reference texts. This can prevent resource trade funds from falling into the wrong hands in difficult environments, such as those of paramilitary groups, which are often involved in commodity trading.


RESULT

Integrity takes on new significance

Commodity trading a high-risk business. After all, raw materials are usually mined in politically troubled environments and under great economic pressure. This places an even greater obligation on all players in the value chain to do their best to put a stop to corruption, environmental offenses and human rights violations. Companies that make efforts to address these issues will increasingly see an impact on their reputation and on the prices they can charge to business and end customers.  Compliance solutions are thus becoming more and more important. Pythagoras implements such solutions according to each customer’s individual needs and optimally supports teams in meeting all regulatory requirements, identifying risks at an early stage and preventing them from occurring, and making decisions based on one and the same set of standards, regardless of location.

Direkt zum Inhalt wechseln

Der Rohstoffhandel unter regulatorischem Druck


Die drei grössten Branchenrisiken und wie sie sich minimieren lassen

Download PDF


1

KORRUPTION

politisch exponierter Personen und Organisationen

2

FINANZKRIMINALITÄT

entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette – von Vermittlern bis zu Kunden

3

GELDWÄSCHE

durch Partner oder Dritte, die an Transaktionen nicht beteiligt sein sollten


HERAUSFORDERUNG

Welche Risiken und Herausforderungen müssen sich Unternehmen stellen?

Die regulatorischen Vorgaben für den Rohstoffhandel werden mehr und mehr. Erst kürzlich, zum 1. Januar 2021, erlegte eine EU-Verordnung Rohstoffimporteuren eine Sorgfaltspflicht auf. Diese Verordnung ist nicht die erste ihrer Art. Bereits 2014 ist zum Beispiel der Dodd-Frank Act in den USA in Kraft getreten, der börsennotierten Unternehmen eine Berichtspflicht auferlegt. Unter anderem müssen sie offenlegen, ob Mineralien aus dem Kongo oder dessen Nachbarstaaten stammen. All diese Vorgaben sind Ausdruck des steigenden Interesses der Öffentlichkeit am Rohstoffhandel und der Forderung nach mehr Transparenz in diesem Wirtschaftsbereich.

Ziel dieser Vorgaben ist es, Ungereimtheiten in den Rohstofflieferketten aufzudecken und den Blick zu schärfen für Themen wie Korruption und Geldwäsche – und das entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette. In diesem Zusammenhang sah sich zum Beispiel der australisch-britische Rohstoffkonzern BHP GROUP erheblichen Vorwürfen ausgesetzt. Das an den Börsen in New York, London, Sydney und Johannesburg notierte Unternehmen geriet in die Schlagzeilen, als Vorwürfe im Zusammenhang mit den Olympischen Sommerspielen 2008 bekannt wurden. Bei Bauprojekten und dem Umgang mit Funktionären soll es gegen US-Korruptionsgesetze verstossen haben. 2010 räumte der Konzern schliesslich selbst Bestechungen kambodschanischer Regierungsvertreter ein. 

„Exploitation and trade of conflict minerals originating in the Democratic Republic of the Congo is helping to finance conflict characterized by extreme levels of violence.“

Dodd-Frank Act
Sec. 1502

In der Tat Schmiergeldzahlungen im Rohstoffhandel. Ein weiterer öffentlich bekannt gewordener Fall ist der des französischen Ölkonzerns Total. Er hatte über einen Zeitraum von neun Jahren insgesamt 60 Millionen US-Dollar Schmiergeld für Aufträge im Iran gezahlt und bekam dafür eine Strafe in Höhe von 388 Millionen US-Dollar auferlegt. Eine Situation, in die kein Unternehmen kommen möchte.

Der Kampf gegen Korruption und Finanzkriminalität ist der Teil der Compliance, der gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit am schwierigsten nachzuweisen ist. Der verantwortungsbewusste Umgang mit der Umwelt lässt sich leichter dokumentieren – etwa indem neutrale Inspekteure Zugang zu Abbaugebieten erhalten und Bericht erstatten. Auch die Einhaltung von Menschenrechten und von Mindeststandards für die Beschäftigten lassen sich auf diesem Weg nachvollziehen. Dies gilt jedoch nur für diejenigen Teile der Wertschöpfungskette, über die ein Unternehmen auch die Kontrolle ausüben kann. Die meisten Player im Rohstoffhandel aber importieren Rohstoffe und verkaufen sie an Geschäftskunden weiter. Trotzdem muss auch ihnen an maximaler Transparenz gelegen sein. Denn damit können sie bei ihren Abnehmern punkten. Schließlich werden auch deren Kunden kritischer. So wird gerade im Rohstoffhandel Reputation immer wichtiger, denn dem Rohstoff selbst beziehungsweise dem damit hergestellten Endprodukt ist die Einhaltung von Umweltstandards, Menschenrechten und Antikorruptionsgesetzen nicht anzusehen. Bleibt die Frage: Wie schafft man Transparenz und einen guten Ruf?


LÖSUNG

Mehr Transparenz und Vertrauen für die Branche und Ihr Unternehmen

Compliance spielt dabei eine wichtige Rolle und ist vor allem für Unternehmen eine Herausforderung, die in unterschiedlichen Rechtsrahmen tätig sind. Rohstoffhändler greifen meist auf Vermittler zurück, die Kontakte zu Behörden, Regierungen und Staatsunternehmen herstellen. Es ist nötig, Beziehungen zu Vermittlern zu prüfen, diese in unterschiedliche Risikokategorien einzuteilen, zu verifizieren und zu überwachen. Denn bei vielen Skandalen waren unter anderem solche Vermittler in Schmiergeldzahlungen involviert. 

Das Pythagoras Business Partner Screening bietet die Lösung. Es ermöglicht die systematische Prüfung und Überwachung von Geschäftsbeziehungen mit politisch exponierten Personen oder Organisationen. In Kombination mit dem Native Character Screening unterstützt es auch nicht lateinische Schriftzeichen und ermöglicht somit einen globalen Einsatz bei gleichzeitiger Erfüllung lokaler Anforderungen.

Das Prüfen von Transaktionen in Echtzeit vor ihrer Durchführung durch das Pythagoras Transaction Screening ermöglicht zudem die Erkennung und Bearbeitung aller involvierten Partner. Es ist ein lernendes System. Es erkennt wiederkehrende Partner und überwacht diese laufend auf Änderungen ihrer Referenzdaten. In unserer Lösung zur Geldwäsche-Compliance muss jeder Alert nur einmal bearbeitet zu werden. Zudem ermöglicht sie die Anwendung spezieller Regeln auf Verwendungstexte. Dies verhindert unter anderem, dass in schwierigen Umfeldern Gelder durch den Ressourcenhandel in falsche Hände geraten, etwa in die von paramilitärischen Gruppierungen, die oft in den Rohstoffhandel involviert sind.


ERGEBNIS

Integrität erlangt neuen Stellenwert

Der Rohstoffhandel ein risikoreiches Geschäftsfeld. Schließlich erfolgt der Abbau von Rohstoffen in zumeist politisch schwierigen Umgebungen sowie unter großem wirtschaftlichen Druck. Umso mehr sind alle Teilnehmer der Wertschöpfungskette in der Pflicht, Korruption, Umweltvergehen und Menschenrechtsverletzungen bestmöglich zu unterbinden. Die Bemühungen auf diesem Gebiet werden sich mehr und mehr in der Reputation von Unternehmen widerspiegeln und sich auf die bei Geschäfts- und Endkunden erzielbaren Preise auswirken. Entsprechend gewinnen auch relevante Compliance-Lösungen an Bedeutung. Pythagoras implementiert solche Lösungen kundenorientiert und unterstützt Teams bestmöglich dabei, allen regulatorischen Vorgaben gerecht zu werden, Risiken frühzeitig zu erkennen, zu vermeiden und Entscheidungen standortunabhängig auf Basis ein und derselben Standards treffen zu können.

Geben Sie Ihren Namen und Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ein, um den Inhalt zu lesen.
Hiermit akzeptiere ich die Datenschutzerklärung